General Skilled Migration Visa

Australia is known as one of the world’s major immigration nations. More than 7.5 million people have been migrated to Australia since 1945. The Australian Government allocates places every year for people who want to be settled in Australia under the General Skilled Migration Visa.

The General Skilled Migration Visa is designed for skilled migrants who wish to join Australian firms. GSM provides a pathway for skilled employees to be eligible for skilled migration visas. If you’ve skills and experience, you must apply for the General Skilled Migration visa in Australia.

The Australian Government targets highly skilled persons for the GSM program. Its main objective is to fill the gaps in specific occupations with professional employees in Australia.

Australian Visa Categories under GSM 

The General Skilled Migration Visa offers different visas to skilled immigrants. It consists of two visa categories which are Employer-Sponsored Visas and Points-tested Skilled Migration Visas.

Employer-Sponsored Visas

General Skilled Migration Australia offers Employer-sponsored visas. It allows Australian employers to sponsor skilled workers with relevant skills to work with them. In addition, overseas workers may explore employment opportunities within Australian employers. They can obtain a chance to use their skills in Australian firms where required.

Employers and employees must be familiar with the eligibility criteria, rules, and policies of the Employer-Sponsored Visas. As it’ll help them both to process the visa application successfully. Here’re some of the significant Employer-Sponsored Visas of Australia.

  • Temporary Skill Shortage Visa 

The Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (subclass 482) allows Australian employers to sponsor skilled international employees. Employers can sponsor eligible workers with relevant skills required in the industry. They may hire professional employees to fill the positions where they can’t find a skilled Australian worker.

 Australian Government targets skilled employees for Temporary Skill Shortage Visa to deal with the labor shortages in Australia. You can live for more than 2 to 4 years in Australia with the Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (subclass 482). However, people who hold a Hong Kong passport may stay for 5 years in Australia. This visa costs around AUD 1,290.

If you want to apply for subclass 482, you must be nominated by an Australian employer for a skilled position. You must meet the specific requirements for the English language to apply for the Temporary Skill Shortage Visa. Subclass 482 visa holders may also apply for permanent residency in Australia if they’re eligible.

  • Employer Nomination Scheme Visa

Employer Nomination Scheme Visa (subclass 186) allows skilled international employees to work in Australia permanently. Applicants have to pay AUD 4,115 to apply for subclass 186. Though, you must have a nomination by the Australian employer to lodge your application. Your occupation should be on the Skilled Occupation List.

Subclass 186 requires 3 years of work experience and a positive skills assessment of applicants. The eligible Employer Nomination Scheme Visa holders may also apply for Australian citizenship. They can live, study and work in Australia on a permanent basis. Moreover, they can also sponsor their family members to visit Australia.

  • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme Visa

Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme Visa (subclass 187) is specifically for skilled employees. You can apply for this visa if the Australian employer nominates you in regional Australia. You can live and work in Australia indefinitely on subclass 187.

Make sure the Australian employer has nominated you to work in regional Australia. You must have 3 years of work experience in your nominated occupation. You must be agreed to work with your nominating employer for at least 2 years in Australia. Regional Sponsored Migration visa costs around AUD 4,045. Further, it may also lead the eligible candidates to Australian citizenship.

Points-Tested General Skilled Migration Visa:

Skilled Migration visa applicants are required to complete the points test. As the skilled migration visas are points-based. The points test evaluates and examines the eligibility of applicants to apply for Skilled Migration visas. You must score at least 65 points to be eligible to apply for the points-tested GSM visas.

  • Skilled Independent Visa

The Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189) is a permanent visa based on a points test. It allows skilled employees to work in any part of Australia. However, they must be invited by the Department of Home Affairs (DOHA) to apply for subclass 189. The occupation of applicants must be on the Skilled Occupation List.

Applicants are required to submit the Expression of Interest (EOI) via Skill Select. It includes specific details about the educational background, work experience, and skills. Once you receive your Skilled Independent Visa so, you can study Visa and work anywhere in Australia.

  • Skilled Nominated Visa 

A Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 190) is a permanent visa. It allows the nominated skilled employees to work as permanent residents of Australia. To apply for subclass 190, applicants must have a nomination by the Australian state/territory government. The Department of Home Affairs (DOHA) invites the nominated employees to apply for the Skilled Nominated Visa (subclass 190).

Applicants under 45 years of age are eligible to apply for subclass 190. However, applicants above 45 years need to submit the Expression of Interest (EOI) before DOHA invites them. Furthermore, they must fulfill the health and character requirements to be eligible for subclass 190. This visa costs around AUD 4,115 for the main applicants. There’ll be separate charges for a family member who’s applying along with the main applicant.

  • Skilled Regional Visa 

The Skilled Regional Visa (subclass 491) is a temporary visa. It is offered to skilled employees from all over the world who want to work in regional Australia. If you’re a skilled worker who wants to explore his skills in Australia’s regional areas, you must apply for subclass 491.

You must be nominated by the Australian state or territory government for subclass 491. Skilled Regional Visa allows you to live for 5 years in regional Australia. You may also travel from and to Australia as many times as you want until your visa is valid.

The Department of Home Affairs (DOHSA) processes 75% of subclass 491 applications within 6 months. In comparison, 90% of applications take 14 months to be finalized. However, the processing time varies according to applications. If applications have complete documents so they’ll be processed quickly. However, applications with incomplete information may take longer.


The Government of Australia offers different visas under which skilled employees can migrate to Australia. Skilled international employees can apply for the General Skilled Migration Visa. It has two categories, including Employer-Sponsored Visas and Points-tested Migration Visas. These categories have different requirements and eligibility criteria for overseas workers. 

Applicants who want to work in the designated regional areas of Australia may choose a visa from these categories. If you’re a skilled employee exploring his skills in Australian firms, you must apply for the General Skilled Migration Visa.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button